Many vegans assume that the beverage alcohol they are consuming is vegan friendly. After all, it is not made of animal products, and there are no animal products listed on the label.
Unfortunately it is not that simple. There are many possible animal products used in the preparation of beverage alcohol. None of which are required to be listed on the label. These include several fining agents, such as gelatin, isinglass and egg whites. So our best advice is, when in doubt, ask the producer.
Do not leave it up to your local vegan restaurant to choose the right ciders, beers or wines for you. We have found that in many cases the beverage alcohol being offered was in fact produced using animal products and that the restaurant owners did not even know to ask. After all why would they? Animal products are not listed on the label.
Cider, unlike beer, is gluten free, however it is not always vegan friendly.